Team Canada announced for Mackenzie Investments Whistler Cup International Youth Ski Race

Apr 02, 2015

Alpine Canada Alpin is thrilled to announce the athletes who have been selected to represent team Canada at the 23rd annual Whistler Cup, presented by Mackenzie Investments, from April 3-5 in Whistler, B.C. 

Over four hundred athletes from 25 countries around the world will complete at the renowned international youth ski race, which is a favourite stop on the competition calendar for many.  

Nine men and nine women from Ontario, Quebec, Alberta and British Columbia will proudly represent team Canada, striving to capture the coveted Nations’ Cup title won by Canada in 2013. 

The Mackenzie Investments Whistler Cup is one of the most prestigious international youth ski races in the world for aspiring World Cup racers aged 12-15. Racers will compete in Super-G, Slalom and Giant Slalom races over the three days of competition in Whistler. Whistler Cup has a history of showcasing future stars, including Americans Lindsey Vonn, Julia Mancuso and Mikaela Shiffrin, as well as Slovenia’s Tina Maze, Italy’s Christof Innerhofer and Austria’s Nicole Hosp, Anna Fenninger and Mathias Meier.

Many of Canada’s biggest stars have also competed at the event over the years, including Marielle Thompson, Kelsey Serwa, Jan Hudec, Erik Guay, Robbie Dixon, Britt and Michael Janyk and Manuel Osborne-Paradis.

Team Canada is fortunate to have National Team member and World Cup racer Robbie Dixon leading the charge this year as team captain for the Canadian Whistler Cup team.  “I am really pumped to be involved with the Whistler Cup.  Racing in my backyard, I know I can contribute to the success of our Canadian Team,” said Dixon. 

“Given my circumstances this season, it has been great to get involved and give back to the ski racing community like this.  It is very humbling and I am thrilled to be involved. There are 18 kids and I’m stoked to get to know them and see how they evolve,” said Dixon, currently recovering from an injury. 

“The Whistler Cup is an excellent opportunity to race against your peers at the international level, ” explained Dixon. “As you grow up, whether you are racing in Canada or North America, this race provides the opportunity to see the diverse competition that exists in Europe and other countries. There are many kids that have raced in the Whistler Cup and are now racing at the World Cup level.”

Team Canada athletes will gather in Whistler prior to the start of the competition for a preparation camp to determine the seeding for the final teams; the eighteen Canadian athletes will be divided into men’s and women’s Team Canada 1, 2 and 3.

In addition, Team Canada will receive support from long-time coach and supporter of Alpine Canada Alpin, Bebe Zoricic through the Nik Zoricic (NZ) Foundation.   Their contributions will help offset the costs for these young athletes to compete at this year’s event. “The Nik Zoricic (NZ) Foundation is honored to support the best U16 athletes racing at Whistler Cup,” said Bebe. “NZ Foundation will offset the cost for each athlete qualified for the U16 Canadian team. ‎NZ Foundation will also pay for the training lanes for all provincial teams, enabling them to gain valuable experience next to Team Canada athletes.” 

The countries that will be represented at the 2015 Mackenzie Investments Whistler Cup are Argentina, Australia, Bosnia Herzegovina, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Great Britain, Haiti, Hungary, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Norway, Romania, Russia, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, New Zealand, Norway and Ukraine.

For the first time, the Mackenzie Investments Whistler Cup will be available to watch LIVE or on-demand through viaSport TV.

“viaSport TV will allow family, friends and fans throughout the globe to experience the excitement of alpine ski racing while cheering on some of the world’s best young competitors,” says Cathy Priestner Allinger, viaSport CEO. “We are proud to help bring the world to Whistler, an Olympic and Paralympic snow sport destination.”



1 Katie Fleckenstein – BC
2 Rachel Kanan – Alberta
3 Stephanie Proffit – Alberta
4 Abby Harrison – Alberta
5 Kristina Natalenko – BC
6 Samantha Boughner – Ontario
7 Catherine Dufrense – Quebec
8 Marina Villenova – Quebec
9 Camille Vibert – Ontario


1 Cameron McGregor – Ontario
2 Griffen Copp – Ontario
3 Zach Mayne – Ontario
4 Justin Vittecoq – Quebec
5 Benjamin Mathieu – Quebec
6 Asher Jordan – BC
7 Adrien Grabinski – Alberta
8 Jamie Casselman – Alberta
9 Gavin Donald – BC

SCHEDULE: To view an event schedule and for more information about the Mackenzie Investments Whistler Cup go to 

LIVE STREAMING: Tune-in to the live-stream on your computer, tablet or mobile device starting Friday, April 3 at 930 AM PT:

LIVE TIMING: Follow the Whistler Cup via live timing, at